LWE Podcast 38: Thomas Andersen

You need Flash to display the player


After many hours spent scoring your mixes, our panel of eight judges has chosen a winning set: Congratulations to Thomas Andersen of Denmark, the winner of LWE’s second annual podcast competition. His mix grabbed our attention the most and earns him three Fabric CDs from 2009. In second place we have Mr. Kaizen of Toronto, who wins two Fabric CDs from 2009, and Eddie Bacal, also of Toronto, takes third and one Fabric CD from 2009. Congratulations to all the winners! Let’s move on to the podcast.

LWE is proud to present our 38th podcast, the last one of 2009, which comes to us from Thomas Andersen, a 23-year-old student from Denmark. Having little access to electronic clubs there, Andersen is only just starting to bring his mixing talents to audiences. His fantastic set, which sounds nothing like the work of a relative newcomer, compellingly connects the dots between styles and sounds with solid pacing and a tracklist that’s at once unexpected and thoroughly relevant to LWE’s readers. He leads us through roughly hewn house selections from Omar-S and Adam Marshall, galloping euphoria courtesy of Pépé Bradock’s remix of Château Flight, and even breaks up the beat with a Simbad remix of Karizma and Martyn’s Fever Ray rework before reaching a peak on Pantha Du Prince’s otherworldly “Peacebone” remix. Regards to Mr. Andersen for recording such a fine mix; check him out if you have the opportunity to see him spin.

Tracklist :
01. Canyons, “Dancing On Silk” [DFA]
02. Rick Wade, “Long Walk” [Rush Hour Recordings]
03. B.D.I., “Industrial Kites” [Rush Hour Recordings]
04. Omar-S, “In Side My Head” [FXHE Records]
05. Adam Marshall, “Tool For Early Chicago” (Seth Troxler & Shaun Reeves Hot Remix) [Simple Records]
06. Château Flight, “Discobole” (Pépé Bradock’s 75cl Remix) [Versatile Records]
07. Karizma, “It’s What I Am” (Simbad Remix) [R2 Records]
08. Fever Ray, “Seven” (Martyn’s Seventh Mix) [Rabid Records]
09. Arthur Russell, “Three House” (Lil Toni Rework) [Electric Minds]
10. Animal Collective, “Peacebone” (Pantha Du Prince Remix) [Domino]
11. Stimming, “The Kiss” (Sascha Funke Remix) [Diynamic Music]

Source : Little White Earbuds

Tags : |

Related posts

Leave a Reply